Great results in round 5, Germany

21/06/2015 by Per Andersson

All Three Volkswagen Polo R WRX showed great performance in Buxtehude, scoring many points in the Championship, as round 5 of 13 was held in Germany.

Young Norwegian Ole-Christian Veiby is continuing to impress with a consistent performance, staying in an overall third position in the Championship. The North German track in Buxtehude is really tricky and always hazardous to manage. Even though driving in a lot of traffic, Veiby performed a mature drive, securing third position overall in the Championship.

In FIA World Rallycross Championship, Johan Kristoffersson was facing a typical Buxtehude event, with ups and downs. After finishing second overall in the opening heat, he had a spin in heat 2 and had to struggle to pick up points in the remaining heats to secure a semi-final position. Norwegian Tord Linnerud showed his best performance of the season, qualifying P4 to the Semi-finals after scoring a impressing best of the season position as second overall in Heat 2.

In the Final, there was a though battle in the first corner, where Johan came out third after a great start. Linnerud was almost stalling the engine and had to start hunting for positions after the first corner. The Norwegian Volkswagen driver was hit several times in the rear, but ended up at P5 after a though battle with Andreas Bakkerud who was excluded from the final.

Kristoffersson was struggling with reduced visibility, carrying mud on the Windscreen, but managed to finish a successful P4. With the great results, Johan Kristoffersson extend the Gap, still as Runner-up in the Championship. 

As Volkswagen Team Sweden managed to get both Volkswagen Polos to the final, they scored great many points in the Team Championship to climb up to third overall.

The results is promising as next event is the home event in Sweden where all three drivers will compete in the World Championship.

Overall standings FIA World Rallycross Championship
1. Petter Solberg
2. Johan Kristoffersson
3. Andreas Bakkerud
11. Tord Linnerud 

Overall standings FIA European Rallycross Championship
1. Jerome Grosset-Janin
2. Tommy Rustad
3. Ole-Christian Veiby 

Team Championship
1. Ford Olsbergs MSE
3. Peugeot Hansen
4. Volkswagen Team Sweden